SS wire Double Helix style electrolyzers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SS wire Double Helix style electrolyzers

Hello all. New guy here. This place is honestly the best source of information I have come across in my research. The tribal knowledge philosophy works well here. It is something we always practice at my work. You all are a great bunch.

Getting ready to build my first electrolyzers for my 3 vehicles. No worries, mechanical, sheet metal, electrical and basic machining skills are there, as is access to a full machine shop at work with people that owe me many favors in case I need something that requires a true machinist's skills. I fix jets for a living and don't blink twice about making things to fix them.

My question relates to which type electrolyzer I should make. There is a ton of information about plate style electrolyzers which seem to be the most common. Coaxial type using a rod and tube would seem to be the next most popular. I have all the build information I could want on these 2 types.

I came across one type of electrolyzer that uses twisted stainless steel wire wound in a double helix in 1qt. containers and was interested in this one but cannot find much information about it or how they compare.

My goal is to actually make an electrolyzer for all my cars. I am aiming for > 2V across the plates and looking at series wired electrolyzers. So a 6-pack of individual cells is on my drawing board already for 2 of the vehicles which both have a lot of room. Something that can be made smaller/thinner is on the board for the other vehicle due to space constraints.

Does anyone care to share their experiences on the stainless steel double helix electrolyzers and how they compare to the plate & coaxial tube styles? I would most definitely appreciate it.

Kind regards!

Tux,