John Hutchison's Crystal Cell - replications

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• John Hutchison's Crystal Cell - replications

Firstly, watch the video. Yes, this is the same Canadian John Hutchison who was on TV that I imagine 99% of you have heard of. He's an eccentric character with a zany sense of humour so bear with ''Carla'' and listen carefully to John and Nancy (recently married - congrats!!!)

‪How to build a Hutchison Power Cell !!!!‬‏ - YouTube

An interesting replication by wavefront101

‪Rock Cell 1‬‏ - YouTube

‪Rock Cell 2‬‏ - YouTube

My replication was only with...

Epsom salts
    Rochelle salts
    Calcium carbonate
    galena
    iron pyrite

I didnt include the Sodium Silicate as I didnt have any and it was quite expansive on ebay and from Japan! I just used Mg ribbon and an alan key as the electrodes. This is my first attempt, and im planning on doing lots more. Perhaps do an identical series of them and wire them up. The results I got seemed fairly promising for a first attempt.

After 12V charging. 5mA at 0.7V. Drops to 2.5 mA @ 0.5V after 5 minutes and remains there. Lights an LED on a J.Thief for 5 minutes....

I wanted to get an LED going constantly so I just swapped the smaller alan key in the centre for one twice the size. I did this several hours after making the first video, and I DIDNT bother charging it on the 12V wall plug. I took measurements immediately after replacing the key and measured 6mA and 1V! So I plugged my J.Thief in, and now I can happily say that I have a crystal power cell constantly lighting my LED

Lets see how long she lasts, shall we? I wont charge it anymore....she doesnt seem to need it. I'll just wait and see how long she lasts...

Heres a vid of earlier....its running better now. Watch this space, many more to come. Lets get an exciter on one of these.

‪Hutchison power cell replication‬‏ - YouTube