Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Healing through Art

My Dearest Ones...

Grace has been after me for the past two weeks to start this thread on the new direction my painting style has taken and try to explain how it has evolved into a healing modality for those of you who have been posting in her Chinese Energetic Medicine thread.

This new style began evolving during the last two months of 2006 after I began to meditate on a daily basis. I discovered that my former, detailed style with my watercolors was becoming mundane for me and I found myself purchasing a collection of acrylic paint, brushes and canvases and began to explore them with no set plan. This is a vastly different approach to creating art from the well-planned watercolors that I had been working on for the past 20 years. Within a few weeks, I discovered that the work was evolving into a distinct style that resonated with me on a very deep level. I found that applying dots of color to the canvas and slowly refining the image I had perceived in my mind was exquisitely healing for me and the act of creating the painting, not only put me in a state of allowing, but also made me feel more "present" than I had ever been in my life.

As the style evolved, many synchronistic things began to occur... I discovered PATHS, began to form deep, loving relationships, noticed changes in my thoughts and beliefs and, quite simply, began to experience each moment more consciously than ever before. I also discovered that the powerful intentions that I had been setting began to manifest quite rapidly. As I would work on the new style, I began to set intentions for myself and others as I applied each dot of color and I eventually began to "know" that each dot was filled with positive and loving energy, thus the term I now call "energy dots" was born.