Writing signal generators in ChucK

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Writing signal generators in ChucK

Since I don't have a signal generator, and I am a software engineer, I had the thought that I could just write a simple program to generate whatever signals I needed. Then, suchayo posted asking for signal generator software and it inspired me to actually figure out how I would do it. http://www.energeticforum.com/renewa...tml#post103110

I decided to write it in ChucK, since it is designed for audio generation, and has free runtimes available for OS X, Windows, and Linux. It makes doing stuff like this incredibly trivial. There are built in generators for sin waves, square waves, triangle waves, and impulses.

ChucK => Strongly-timed, On-the-fly Audio Programming Language

Code:
    // connect SinOsc to dac
    SinOsc s => dac;
    // set initial frequency to 440 hz
    440 => s.freq;
    // let time pass for 1 second
    1::second => now;
    Attached is the output of that program. Sorry it's fuzzy. The built in soundcard on my mac mini puts out 250 millivolts. Hook it up to a home stereo amplifier to get more.

I'll have to fiddle around a little more to figure out how to do amplitude modulation. It's probably not too hard.

This is the scope I have, by the way. It's great:

SparkFun Electronics - DSO Nano - Pocket-Sized Digital Oscilloscope
    Attached Files
    Last edited by fzzzy; 07-09-2010, 09:59 AM.

Can we get amplitude modulation with that solution?

From My Work on Rife

I am thinking of real time multiple sine wave / PWM calculator that send the value to soundcard.

onboard MIDI solution already available like "NCH Tone Generator" that allow many frequency at once.

Also, what is the transistor inside audio amplifier? Isn't it good if we can use our computer as signal generator which should produce very accurate frequency?

Comment

Thanks for the link to the rife page. I'll have to read it later, too much to read right now.