Iron vs. Steel in attraction motor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Iron vs. Steel in attraction motor

I was advised to start this thread because I opened up a can of worms about the use of pure iron in contrast to steel.

I have limited knowledge of most of the parts that make up an attraction motor but I'm trying to understand the basics.

From my reading on the subject of metal, iron holds magnetism only mtemporarily, while steel holds it permanently. I don't understand why this is.

I am interested in recreating the Teal motor based on the info in Peter Lindemann's DVD on the Secret of Electric Motors.

I have already wound my coil and am now in the process of making a magnetic keeper around the coil based on the drawings found in the DVD (above).

A friend of mine is willing to cast the parts I need all I have to do is sculpt it in foam rubber.

I'm going to have two parts to cover the coil. I'll put a lip to screw the thing together around the coil.
    I was thinking of the iron piston to have a small hole down the center to place a steel rod because it is stronger than cast iron. Would this small amount of steel magnetize the iron eventually?

Whoever wants to comment feel free.
    Last edited by sykavy; 11-29-2007, 05:51 PM.

cast iron can be just as strong as steel (or stronger), only it is less flexible.
    The big diffrence is carbon content. Also important is the way the carbon is distributed througout the iron, simplified there is two types of cast iron,

laminair cast iron, wich can absorb shocks/vibrations, this is due to the lammellated distribution of carbon.

Nodular Cast iron, where the carbon has formed little globules, this type is much stronger, but also harder (more brittle) elasticity to 900N/mm^2
    compared to normal steel wich is only 235N/mm^2

I'm sure your friend is capable of casting iron, but i doubt he has the means of controlling the process to an industrial degree (or even get close)