Slayer Exciter Specs?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Slayer Exciter Specs?

Hello - I've read several threads on the slayer exciter circuit but being that I'm a total newb to circuitry I haven't seen anything that gives a step by step process on how to build one accompanied with a specific parts list. I have tried building one but it didn't work at all. Also, I've seen some videos with smaller diameter pvc and some with larger diameter, but can't make heads or tails out of the circuit. Below are the parts I have:

2n3055 (used with Super Joule Ringer)
    1" PVC
    28 Gauge Magnet Wire
    16 Gauge Wire

1. Can I use these items above to build a slayer exciter or are there any other parts that I should use instead to make the circuit perform better (diodes, resistors)?
    2. Assuming I can use the 1" PVC, how many turns for the 28 gauge wire? Turns for the 16 gauge?
    3. Could someone provide a written description on how the circuit should be hooked up? I can't make sense out of schematics.

Thanks for the help in advance.

To see the circuit information on the Slayer type of Exciter you can look at his Youtube channel. Most of his videos provide a circuit diagram.
    GBluer's channel - YouTube

I can tell you that the L3 coil that uses a ferrite rod inside of the secondary, can be made a small as one or two inches long, and will work well. this will avoid hours of winding the big L3 coils that are used most of the time.
    Best transistor to use is the 2n2222, many others will also work, but not as well. You'll also need a diode or two (1N4148), and a 1 meg resistor.
    The primary coil can be as small as three turns around the L3 (secondary coil). Secondary coil can be made from the 30 gauge magnet wire, primary L1 coil can be most any insulated copper wire, or made into a pancake shape, and placed around the bottom part of the L3 coil.