Looking for suggestions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for suggestions

Hello all! My name is Aaron. I'm new to the forums. I have read fairly extensively throughout these forums looking for answers and learning all that I can.

Currently, I am an Engineering Student. I've been working towards a degree in ChemE.

Anyway, the reason I'm here, and the reason I am posting, is because I'm working on a project for one of my engineering classes. To sum it up, I am creating an earth battery which, in theory, will power a small electric motor.

The motor is a 1.5-3.0v and its current draw is unknown. I was trying to test it today but the fuse in the DVOM was blown. The resistance is really hard to obtain, as it bounces all over the place. I'm thinking it's bouncing all over because it's an electric motor... Although, truly, I have no idea. Turning the motor however, there are certain area's where I can get a steady reading which holds at ~5ohms.

Thus, at 3.0v I calculate that 0.6amps will be needed to drive the motor, and at 1.5v I get 0.3amps.

The design of the earth battery is as follows:

*16 ice cube trays (each cube holder I will create a voltaic cell).

*Each tray has 14 cube holders, thus there are going to be 224 cells.

*Each cell produces ~1.15v and ~.6mA (These figures were pulled using straight vinegar, which I saturated the dirt with; however, I'm actually going to use something more acidic, covered in the next bullet).

*I am using a mixture of pixy stix's (citric acid) as well as lemon juice as the solution that will be added to the cells in order to (hopefully) increase the output of each cell. The pH of the cells are ~1.8
    -----So in theory, I'm sort of creating a Cu-Zn voltaic cell/lemon battery.