Wardenclyffe - Tesla's true intention

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wardenclyffe - Tesla's true intention

I have been studying Tesla's work for a few years and I would like to present my findings here.
    Tesla often used mechanical analogies to describe electrical apparatus. In fact a lot of his work after roughly 1900 is not described in direct terms. Let me start with a small walkthrough of his famous article 'THE PROBLEM OF INCREASING HUMAN ENERGY' written in June 1900:
    Here, then, was an idea which, if realizable, afforded a happy solution of the problem of getting energy from the medium. But was it realizable? I convinced myself that it was so in a number of ways, of which one is the following. As regards heat, we are at a high level, which may be represented by the surface of a mountain lake considerably above the sea, the level of which may mark the absolute zero of temperature existing in the interstellar space. Heat, like water, flows from high to low level, and, consequently, just as we can let the water of the lake run down to the sea, so we are able to let heat from the earth's surface travel up into the cold region above. Heat, like water, can perform work in flowing down, and if we had any doubt as to whether we could derive energy from the medium by means of a thermopile, as before described, it would be dispelled by this analogue. But can we produce cold in a given portion of the space and cause the heat to flow in continually? To create such a "sink," or "cold hole," as we might say, in the medium, would be equivalent to producing in the lake a space either empty or filled with something much lighter than water.
    Note the word 'something much lighter'. This is not necessary but he is probably thinking of ether.