Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FEMF, BEMF, and Inductive Collapse

Hi Gurus,

I have been around under different names for a while. I am still not an expert, but I get frustrated by the use of terms that are simply incorrect! I am trying to clear these terms up and with help from others here, trying to define their definitions more clearly, so a better approach can be taken to the industry we have all created.

FEMF :
    The term Forward Electro Motive Force, or just EMF, this is directly a result of Induction. There are two types of induction, Flux Cutting and Flux Linking. Each are separate and defined differently, by separate equations.
    The Flux Cutting equation is : EMF = Bvl
    The Flux Linking Equation is : EMF = -dPhi/dt
    Defined by George I Cohn.

BEMF :
    The term Back Electro Motive Force, the same as CEMF, is also directly a result of Induction, defined in the FEMF section. However, BEMF or CEMF is always in opposition to the Input Power we put into the device that is being acted upon by the BEMF in the first place.

An Example, we are driving an Electric Motor, our input is 12V @ 1 amp. The Rotation of this Electric motor will be affected by BEMF in the opposite direction to the for mentioned input, causing more input into the Electric Motor than is actually required to run the Electric Motor in the first place. Thus, only a fraction of the input we put into the motor is actually doing work to turn the Shaft of the Electric motor, the rest is actually being destroyed by the BEMF, caused by induction as the Shaft, Rotor turns.

BEMF is Induction as a result of the Rotation of the Rotor, which is in opposition to our Input. (In most Cases but not all - Some Motors have no BEMF Issues)

BEMF is NOT Inductive Collapse!!!!

Inductive Collapse :